• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

My new level of respect for the devs...

U

utilitron

I have always had much respect for the developers of UO, and have stuck up for many of their methods durring some of the harder times *cough durring the Inu story Arc before KR was revealed cough* But over the last few months, and especially the last week, I have gained a new respect for what they must go through.

I have been programming on the side for many many years, and understand what it takes to create a program, and make it do what you intended. Now, a few months ago, I finished up the first version, and released uoskins.com . It was created as a project to teach myself PHP durring the development of another site called sidejobjoe.com - both of which I am the sole programmer.

It was a few months ago now, that a thread was started about new job openings at UO. I applied, and although I wasn't contacted about that job, it gave me the motivation to post my resume, with my programming experience added.

Last week, I left my job as a retail manager to my new career as a developer/programmer for a local company. It has been one of the best weeks of my life, next to getting married, and my daughter being born.

All of the recent arguements over the recent changes, and what not, has really made me reflect on what life as a developer must be for our Devs.So, I just wanted to take a minute, and say: Thanks.