• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Laaaag / Packet Loss - Any Ideas?

E

Eldritch

I have been playing UO for about 10 years and never had this problem (at least this bad).

This is what I see when I attempt to log in:

Now I ran a few traceroutes to determine what was causing this and this is what I saw:

Host Name Hop Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s Ping best/worst
.fuse.net 1 8ms 0% 156 / 156 8ms / 11ms
.zoomtown.com 2 10ms 0% 156 / 156 8ms / 147ms
.fuse.net 3 14ms 0% 156 / 156 9ms / 177ms
.wvfiber.net 4 12ms 0% 156 / 156 11ms / 25ms
.wvfiber.net 5 25ms 0% 156 / 156 16ms / 212ms
.wvfiber.net 6 84ms 0% 155 / 155 62ms / 377ms
.wvfiber.net 7 83ms 0% 155 / 155 71ms / 265ms
core1.paix.ea.com 8 100% 0 / 155
edge03.eqx-sjc.ea.com 9 75ms 0% 155 / 155 74ms / 88ms
edge01.eqx-sjc.ea.com 10 74ms 0% 155 / 155 74ms / 76ms
* Unknown Host * 11 83ms 0% 155 / 155 74ms / 451ms
central-aw4.owo.com 12 75ms 0% 155 / 155 74ms / 81ms

I am not a network / internet expert but I think I see that the problem lies somewhere in the area of the 8th hop. I have never seen a traceroute with 100% packet loss before.

I messaged EA to see if they could fix it (it is an ea server after all.)

After going back and forth I got the following response (edited for the sake of brevity):