• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Inflation in UO: Keeping up with the Joneses?

Landicine

Seasoned Veteran
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
A lot of threads about gold sinks and wealth and item costs and such got me thinking about inflation in UO. When I started playing, 10k gold was a lot. I killed to save 100k for a tower deed, only to have the price jump to 400k or so right when I was about to buy. Now, I have millions, and others have hundreds of millions or more. The average PvP weapon costs a few million, and the better ones go for a lot lot more.

Inflation has a few causes that have been discussed (gold farming, scripting, lack of gold sinks), but I don't want to discuss that. I'm pretty comfortable in game. I have most of the items I want, and the few I don't are something to actually hunt for. I have enough money to waste it on crazy ideas or crafting fiascos. However, I still feel the call to "keep up with the Joneses:" to have enough gold to be considered middle class, to have good enough gear to be considered mediocre, etc.

So the question is, to "keep up with the Joneses," how much gold should someone be making in game each day? 100k? 500k? 1 million? More?

H

Harb