• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Banned for buying? Come on!

L

Lord Forest

I know all the (gold) poor jerks and newbies will flame but I need some answers. A friend of mine was banned for 72 hours for buying items that were said to be duped off a vendor. The items were taken and the gold was not returned plus a ban was put into effect. He and I have been buying and selling for profit for over 6 years now. That is a staple of our play. How the $#$# are we supposed to know if something is duped??? He is probably going to quit and I am at least closing one of my last two accounts. I didn't think it could ever happen to one of us because we always have played the game by the rules. This beloved game is dying a slow death and they are just trying to push it into the grave.

Anyone else banned for 72 hours for buying?

200 million gold gone and for what? Buying off a vendor.

Basara

UO Forum Moderator
Professional
Governor
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
Wiki Moderator
UNLEASHED
Campaign Supporter
Considering that one had to have multiple (and that number was in the high single digits) duped items in one's possession to get hit by the big ban a few weeks ago, one cannot feign innocence and be taken seriously. Just my opinion as a player who has spent more than 6 million on an item only twice in 6 years, and both were mage related 120 PS for the same character, 2 years apart.