• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

UO is very hard for new players to download

• Thread starter Johnny Powerhead
  • Start date
  • Watchers 0
J

Johnny Powerhead

I played UO from about 2000-2004 so I have some knowledge about the basics of how the game works. So last month for some reason I decided to start playing again. I found the UO website and there is a link to download a free 14 day trial of a Kingdom Reborn client. So I went to that link and signed up for the subscription and everything. Then when I went to actually download the software, it sent me to some 3rd party site. First, I had to sign up with this 3rd party - name, address, email, etc etc. Then, after collecting all my information, they said if I wanted the "free" version, I would have to wait approximately 1.5 hours. But I could download immediately if I buy a subscription for $3.99. Instead of choosing either of these methods, I went back to the UO site and decided to just pay for the subscription, and downloaded the old 2-D client. So for the past month I have been playing on the old client, wondering what the Kingdom Reborn client is like. I see all the ads for Stygian Abyss so I decided to just play on the old graphics until that comes out.