• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

setting up wireless connection

M

Mooge

Alright, so I'm new to ff xi and I just bought it today. I have a wireless router in my house and I want to connect to the internet using that. I'm trying to set up the wireless information, but I have no idea what the hell I'm doing.

1. What is ISP?
What do I put for User ID/password?
2. What is a DNS server?
What do I put in for Primary DNS server/Secondary? Should I set it to "Acquire automatically"?
3. What are auxiliary settings?(MTU value settings)
4. What is PPPoE? What info should I put in here?
5. What are Proxy servers and what do I do with this?

As you can see, I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. I've set up wireless settings before (my ps3, wii, ds etc.) but I don't know what the hell to do for this. I thought it would be as simple as searching for an access point, choosing my router, and then entering the WEP key. I was very wrong.

O

Onewing

Your best bet is to call your internet provider and have them tell you what to put into each field.

M

Mooge

Can someone please help? I'm trying to register for "PlayOnline". I really have no idea what to do.

EDIT- I'm using my ps3 to play it.

O

Onewing

Oh! I thought you were trying to setup your wireless router! My bad...

Open up your internet and type 192.168.0.1 (I think this is right) in your browser, this should open all of your wireless router settings. It'll have all the questions you asked above values.

M

Mooge