• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Protection or Mage Weapon

Gb8719

Journeyman
Stratics Veteran
I'm new to casters so I apologize if this is a dumb question.

I'm working on making a suit for a spellweaving, necro, mage that I plan on doing Champ spawns and helping with peerless. I would like to use Slayer spellbooks for obvious reasons but I'm worried about interrupt from multiple attackers. Would you recommend running with a mage weapon or building a suit with extra physical resist and keeping protection up at all times?

azmodanb

Grand Poobah
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
casting focus works to prevent spell interruption.. you can work your suit with some of that .. like protection w/o neg to casting speed.. and use books...

or your other option is a mage weap ..

Gb8719

Journeyman
Stratics Veteran
Does casting focus at around 5 or 6 percent make a noticeable difference? I've never used it before.

Logrus

UO Legend
VIP
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
Casting focus makes casting slightly more forgiving. So its not like protection where you just ignore the hits. You still need to time your spells well, and if you are hit, you may get lucky.
Casting focus caps out at 12 for items, + 5 from GM inscription ,+ 5 (I think) from a 4x 120 bard with preservance running.