• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

How can new players understand this game?

L

Loqucious

I have played this game for 7 plus years. I am a scientist by profession, so I'm reasonably educated (gosh I hope I don't make spelling mistakes! LOL). But as I'm reading the report from the last town hall meeting all I can ask myself is how a new player can possibly join this game and have any fun. Heck, I'm confused with all this new stuff and I have a strong knowledge of the game as it is currently written.

There is already sooooooo much understanding that is needed to play this game, and now we will have a new expansion that will make the learning curve even harder. As well as two clients! I really don't think people will want to join an online game that not only takes a very large amount of time investment to be competitive, but also takes an extraordinary amount of effort to figure out how to succeed. There is no book that a person can refer to when they need answers, and if there was it would have to be huge.

I firmly believe that UO will never expand it's player base with this approach. I believe most online players would like to simply log onto their char, run around, and have some fun. This approach is the opposite of that.