• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

"Can UO developers put controls on the games economy?"

jill

Adventurer
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
Hello..

I've been playing Uo for about 11 yrs now and i'm very concerned about its economy. Over inflated prices seem to loom everywhere.. Gold is given freely and camped for in the game unendingly and players are dropping unable to keep up or start up in the game. Its really hurting not just the existing players but the game as a whole. And its not just UO suffering from this.. power players and gold hoarders are in all the moorph games.. its a ongoing problem and should really be looked at seriously to keep UO as the longest lasting moorph in history.

I might have a solution (or suggestion), how about a gold conversion in the game.. vendors will no longer sell items for gold but for a new currency. This new currency can be traded for , converting gold to drachma's for instance). In the game gold will be written out as a reward and loot will consist of drachma's. However, in a much more leaner form then we have today. Skilled monsters might have from 1-10 drachma's with smaller skill monsters having gold still which can be converted into drachma's at say 1000 to 1 or more.

This would be a new trading currency. Although it might make alot of enemies at first it could be a way to bring back new players into the game, allowing them to keep pace.