• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

What is the point or goal?

J

Jacey626

Hi, I am new to both the game and the forums. I only have experience in one other MMORPG and while it was a good start for me into online games... it didn't really prepare me for UO. But hey, what really could? lol (You could max out all your stats and it had step by step guides that really held your hand)

I have been playing for a little less than a month (on Legends), am in a guild (that doesn't seem to be very active while I am on however VERY helpful when I do have a question) and trying to be a mage and scribe. Oh, and I lost my "young" status very early because I got too many skill points before I knew what that even meant! hehe

I realize the title of my post is a very big and broad question... but what in the world am I supposed to be doing in this game? Yes, I know it is different for every player... but I feel like I am spending most of my time standing at the bank in New Haven or at my house scribing becuase I don't know what else to do.

I don't want to give up on UO becuase it is the nicest community of players I have ever met. But, I don't know how to make money and killing the ettins by New Haven are making me go crosseyed from boredom. I am still so confused by all the different items in the game, stats, maps, etc.