• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

What happened to UO?

funtime2009

Visitor
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
I started playing UO in 2000. I had an account for 6 and one half years strait. There was a time that UO was full of people everywhere you looked. When I left in 2007 Britain bank was full of people selling stuff. I rejoined UO two weeks ago and I find Brit bank deserted and apparently anyone left in the game is now found at the Luna bank.

I went to World of Warcraft for 2 and 1/2 years and found it enjoyable. There comes a time however when one cannot continue grinding and regrinding the same content and I finally closed my two accounts and came back to UO.

What I noticed on WOW versus UO is that they have a better communication system which allows the server wide population anywhere they are to communicate with the rest of the server if they joined the same communication channel. It is my thought that if UO installed a shard wide communication channel they would add a great deal of value to their product and the players would also be able to coordinate/communicate a lot easier.

It seems to me that UO is the same in content style sense as WOW. They both have quest systems remarkably the same and each work well. What UO does not have is a group dungeon system although peerless bosses are considered group events. It just seems to me that a global communication system would facilitate group oriented events a lot easier.