• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Today Marks My 9th Year Playing UO!

Eric Ravenwind

Lore Master
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
I just logged in and got prompted for my veteran rewards. Gosh its' be great. I started playing in 2002, but alas, I quit for several years. When Age of Shadows was came out, I went to Doom, got to the ferry, and someone made a Skeletal Dragon appear. It made my White Wyrm go wild and someone killed it. It was the first WW I ever tamed, so I was quite aggravated.

After I had quit, I would still check stratics forums and look up stuff about the game. After playing a free-shard for about a year, I got that UO bug and reopened my account. About a month or two later, I fired up a second account. Great Lakes was the first and only shard I played on. Then, in or around 2016, I made a couple characters on Siege. I love both places & can't decide which one I like better, so both of them are my favorite.

UO was the first MMO I had ever played. I love it! I tried WoW & it was a pain in the ass to be honest, so I stopped playing it. I tried EQ and EQ2 - hated them. Then Elder Scrolls Online came out. ESO was good, but nothing compared to Ultima. Neverwinter Nights and Neverwinter Nights 2 were and still are great in my opinion; but comparing NWN to UO is like comparing apples to oranges. NWN has that toolset you can build adventures with, so I cannot honestly compare them. I've always compared MMOs to UO & nothing measures up to it.