• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

New to barding - not sure I "get it" :)

G

Hi there, as per title of thread - Im new to this and not sure I get it!
Actually still quite new to UO really, so am learning much every day

So onto my questions/queries!

Firstly, is the FAQ still correct and up to date? (just asking cos its a few years old
) Which stats are important to a Bard? Dexterity for faster playing? I notice that there's quite a long (well seems long to me while I am running away from things waiting to try and peace them again! :p) gap between skill uses, does that get better with higher skill, or higher stats?

From all the reading I've been doing, it seems a bard can't actually kill a beastie just with barding skills, so I'm going to have mage as well as bard, is that a good choice? Also, fire horns, it says they use 4 sulphurous ash, will a 100% lrc suite still need the sulphurous ash?

I plan on doing 100 each of the bard skills, and 100 mage and EI - I'm not likely to be able to afford scrolls for more than 110 on anything - and from what I read, seems if I have 110 music and 100 on the other bard skills, then that is equivalent to 110 on the others anyway?

I'll probably have more questions as I go - but I think that's it for now!
I've just started the character yesterday
Thanks a real lot to anyone answers!

J

joblackjon

First off, I only PvM so my comments don't apply to PvP at all.