• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Metal Detectors & Treasure Hunting

BlissMarie

Lore Keeper
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
Do any of you know anything about metal detectors?

How about treasure hunting? Have you ever done it?

Perhaps you have searched for sunken ships, participated in archeological digs, mined for gold or gems?

Tell me what you know. I have little knowledge of any of these things, but from the little I do know, it sounds like fun to me!

BlissMarie

Olahorand

Slightly Crazed
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
I have a detector - sometimes doing beach search here in Germany (in total collected around 450 Euro mainly from Baltic sea this year - had there my summer vacation).
Yesterday I was searching on a field nearby and found some coins from last century, a dog tax tag from 1932 and a broken military tag from WW2 times. Not big treasures, but belonging to the history of our area :)
Lucky enough no grenades etc until now.

Kind of surprise egg effect, but instead of chocolate you get some moving in fresh air (something, what us computer guys are really in need).
And it is also work - moving the thing from left to right and from right to left is much more hard over time than digging some less deep holes.

*Salute*
Olahorand

K

Kiminality

Back when I lived on the coast, people would be out on the beach with metal detectors.
I guess equal parts looking for things washed up by the tide and things lost/left by holidaymakers.

WildWobble

Sage