• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

(Question) Hail ye mighty vets! What should I choose as a noob?

Marisa Kirisame

Seasoned Veteran
Stratics Veteran
Cheers everyone, I'm new to UO and I've decided to start out here, on SP. There are advices on numerous FAQs, I know, but my question is about a build: dear vets, could you compare the usefulness of a tamer with Hiding and Stealth vs. a tamer with Spellweaving and one standalone crafting skill of choice, such as Imbuing or Alchemy. What are pros and cons?

Silent Singer

Certifiable
Stratics Veteran
UNLEASHED
I run stealth tamer a lot. Very good for killing monsters and not being killed, and for finding pets worth taming without fighting them. If you want a trade skill, get two soulstones and switch it off. Greater dragons don't fear cooks, and the Bo sure as heck doesn't. On siege, you gotta always account for the Bo and his pvp brethren.

Marisa Kirisame

Seasoned Veteran
Stratics Veteran
But weaving and imbuing, what 'bout them? PvE stuff on first one tho. Also many many nice stuff on tinkering.

Last edited:

Spiffykeen

Sage
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
UNLEASHED
If you're married to having the crafting skill on there, maybe mysticism and imbuing? The myst gets a bonus from the imbuing skill, much like evaluate intelligence gives a boost to magery. (I say gives a boost, they're kinda useless without said boost)

and DAMMIT STRATICS QUIT GIVING ME ADS FOR BUYING RUSSIAN WOMEN!!!!

Marisa Kirisame