• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Faction questions

Rotgut Willy

Seasoned Veteran
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
I'm new to factions, and only sort of new to UO PvP. "Back in the day" before Trammel I was active in PvP. When Trammel was introduced I stopped playing UO for a while and just returned a couple years ago and have mostly PvM'd except for some disappointing moongate PvP (and some occasional good dungeon fights), so I know PvP has changed dramatically since I used to play way back when. During my leave from UO I did regularly play and PvP on PRS's but those were unique rule-sets that don't transfer well to production shards.

So anyway, I decided to join in Factions and have been having a blast. I get my butt kicked most of the time but it's still fun. I have some questions.

1) I was attacked the other day by an opposing faction. I ran like a little girl because I was alone and clearly outmatched. I was hit a few times before I got a lead and was able to gain some distance. Oddly enough... I was able to Sacred Journey soon after that. Why was I not hit with the whole "in the heat of battle" thing and prevented from traveling? (Or am I just confusing production shards with PRS's I've played where you can't recall while in the heat of battle?) This is new to me. Normally I don't even attempt to instant travel. This time, I hit my macro by mistake and was surprised that it worked.