• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Crossing Cactus - Is there a random factor?

G

Gallica

I am fairly new to planting and have been doing a lot of crossing to create a bank of both seeds and pollinating plants. All has been going well using the information gathered on various sites, crosses have been coming out as expected........until today....

In a large batch of plants crossed...most were normal, but the seeds gathered off the tri barrel and barrel cactuses were not what I expected them to be. I am very careful when crossing and could not have made that many mistakes...I could understand one going wrong but not as many as there are.

For example I crossed a blue tribarrel with a blue tribarrel...expecting a bright blue tribarrel....and got bright blue rushes. Red tribarrel x red tribarrel gave bright red small palm instead of bright red tribarrel. A red barrel cactus x yellow barrel cactus has given an orange small palm? Is there a randomness to cactus crossing that I don't know about....or perhaps I have discovered a bug?

The seeds I identified using poppies dust and all the cactuses in this batch are wrong. I will plant them anyway just in case the right ones grow and its a bug with the identification ..... clutching at straws I know....but oh well might as well live in hope..

DevilsOwn

Stratics Legend
Alumni
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
seems a side-effect of the phenomenon described in this thread