• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

What I Do In My Spare Time. By Del Pudding

D

DPudding

Twelve days ago I received a phone call. Not a hot chick....not a bill collector....though the latter seems to call more than the former! Rather...it was my so-called.....agent. I know what you're thinking! Del? An actor? Nah....I'm an author. I write college text books. Economics mostly....well....I have parlayed my extensive knowledge of pie charts and bar graphs over into the finance arena. But....finance is a fickle lover....she never called me back after our first date.

So....I get a call twelve days ago. Del (My name isn't Del, BTW)....can you throw together three chapters.....roughly ninety pages on monetary policy and the role of international lending? In my sleep, baby! You see....the time honored art of writing text books isn't a whole lot different from writing romance...or speculative fiction. Sometimes....the author turns in a stinker. Luckily....you got dudes like me who can clean it up! Well....normally I can clean it up.

I took off this week. Left my nice job in a failing industry and came home to slap together an outline and get started. That was last Friday. It's due this Monday. I haven't started yet. I don't know why I haven't started. I could blame it on basketball...conference tournaments have started. I could blame it on UO. But I've played about four hours this week. So....I'm hoping that admitting the problem is the first step toward resolving it.