• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

NEWS UO Newsletter #49

Fridgster

Crazed Zealot
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
UNLEASHED
Did I say illegal? Nope; I said legally gray. Went back and checked just to make sure.

I will admit, I was unaware of the current state of free to play servers and open sourced coding. And I'll also freely admit, I'm not a programmer, so a lot of this goes over my head, but wouldn't the use of the graphical assets be where the lines get blurry? ie, they're using assets that were created by OSI (and purchased by EA).
The ultimate issue at this point is profitability. Would it be profitable for EA to go after the free servers legally? Probably not. Does UO generate enough profit to warrant the expenditure? Personally I think the last thing we want to do is draw attention to that aspect. EA failed to take action against free shards when they were in proper position to do so. I think a lot of times the devs don't attack issues like free shards, rmt, and gold sellers. They may be under the impression that in this case the squeaky wheel doesn't get the grease but instead gets replaced. Maybe they wouldn't be wrong in this case. I don't want to sound like one of those "uo will be dead soon" people, and honestly I wouldn't be surprised if UO out lived me. Though eventually, like all things UO too shall pass.

Cerwin Vega

Lore Master
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend