• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Roleplay-Heavy Shards?

S

siyeng0

Um. Hello.

I'm a roleplayer. It's a bit of an embarrassing admittal to make, and I feel like it should be followed by somebody telling me, "Admitting you have a problem is the first step." But hey, it's a hobby, and you can't really choose what you'll become interested in, can you?

I started playing Ultima Online four years ago for the roleplay, as the sites I went to made it sound like it was a game based predominantly around that aspect. (They're not called Massively Multiplayer Online Stabbing-Each-Other-With-Swords-And-Speaking-In-Chatspeak Games, after all.) I played on Oceania, which had its moments. Unfortunately, Oceania seems to be going through a difficult patch at the moment, and I want to play elsewhere until they release a MMORPG with an optional befoul-your-opponent's-corpse macro, which should lure all the problem players away. Now that I am going to be getting off the dial-up, I can play on an overseas shard; I don't want to move to a free shard just yet.

So, I was wondering - are there any OSI shards where there is a healthy roleplaying community? This is probably the most stagnant forum I've seen in a while, which is worrying, but I'll ask on the off chance that something is out there. I'd like to get back into it, and I'd like to stay on UO, so: does anybody have any suggestions?

S

Salty Pete