• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Returning Player With Some Questions

Ossy

Adventurer
First, a bit of background: I started playing with Renaissance way back when and played straight through until the first Final Fantasy MMO came out. I did play around a bit with Age of Shadows, but not much. Came back a year or so ago for a bit, but life got in the way. Back again and trying to get caught up.

I read the guide by CorwinXX.

Is the straight melee warrior (Chiv, Bushido, Swords in my case) still a viable build? Is it good for soloing?

What is the best equipment?

How good is the Archer/Melee build? That sounds like it could be fun.

I've been looking for info and can't really find anything. How do the talisman's work? I get the protection benefits on some, but what are the charges?

Any advice for getting back into the swing of things.

Playing on Catskills (originally on Chessy but couldn't remember old logins).

Tuan

Slightly Crazed
Stratics Veteran
Yes, bushido paladin build is still viable and can solo much of the content out there.

The best equipment ... obviously this would be a suit full of legendary artifacts that were all perfectly fit together. If such a suit existed, I'd suspect it'd be worth several 10s of billions of gold. I wear a suit that is a mix of crafted and looted items and reward artifacts and don't have any complaints.

I've never bothered to try the melee/archer template - I find that 1 or the other works just fine for me.