• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

New UO Player Advice

C

connelld1965

Hello, I am new to UO and have tried a few types of characters and am settling on a Bard/Taming character becasue I want to explore the world and this seems like a fun way to do it. I am thinking about trying a 7 GM Spec and have a couple of questions. Will this spec work well and I am not sure what Strength/Dex/Magic would be good? ps. I looked at the stickies and the builds seem pretty advanced. I need something good for a brand new roaming around player. Mine is pretty close to some but splits more evenly between Taming and Music talents Not doing Fel with this guy until I get UO Assist becasue I am pretty sure I would get owned all the time.

Spec:

Str 100
Dex 25
Int 100

Magic 100
Animal Lore 100
Taming 100
Vet 100
Music 100
Descordance 100
Provocation 100

Figured I would run around and tame things, explore and try to get some gold for a crafter. Also, any tips would be great!

D

Demoquin84

That template would be good to start with but as you advance you are going to need 120 PS for all music skills and taming is debatable. You may want to drop Provoke to raise the skills on all others. Discord is wonderful for a tamer as it increases the pets effectiveness.

You will need at least a 110 PS for Taming and Lore for the Greater Dragons (105.6), if you don't care for it then can go with less. Also Elves are able to tame Cu Sidhe which take around 102 taming.