• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Farming creatures..... don't laugh

RazicGL

Seasoned Veteran
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
A real newbie question here... When you are farming animals trying to get the perfect pet do you put the lored creatures stats into the calculator before or after you tame it! I plan on trying to get me a host of high end critters and I am starting with nightmares, Bake and rune beetles. As I am new to taming I am expecting that I will be at it for a while so I was wanting to know your thoughts. I have ready the FAQ end to end so I know about lead taming and beating on things before taming them but I didn't know if you guys rated them before or after taming... or is there a trick i.e the end hp's stats will be 50% once tamed ect...

thanks for your input.

Aibal

Slightly Crazed
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
I used to write down the max stats/resists for the pets I was after (with Gdrags I'd also write down max skills untamed), and just use that as a reference. Once I found one worth keeping, I'd tame it and then run the calculator. Through the years, I rely less on that and more on my instincts of what makes a particular pet "good" for what I want it for. Interestingly enough, they still tend to score high, but my "emphasis" or "order" of traits I select for on a pet has changed.

RazicGL

Seasoned Veteran
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
So are the max stats listed on the Pet Power calculator or do I need to go to the hunters guide?