• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Do qualifications matter?

Flutter

Always Present
Alumni
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
Awards
Is self-taught skills in the here and now accepted as part of your skill set?
If I sing karaoke on Wednesday nights can I call myself a singer?
If I have a couple of blogs does that make me a blogger or even better a programmer?
How good does my cooking have to be to be considered a chef?
If I sell virtual goods once in a video game am I a professional gamer?
If I spent a month with no income other than my poker winnings am I a professional poker player?

I see people giving themselves titles. What is required for these titles.
If I eat in restaurants and run a blog and talk about how good or bad the food was am I a food critic?
I had a poem published once. Am I an author?

Captn Norrington

Stratics Forum Moderator
Professional
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
UNLEASHED
Campaign Supporter
Personally, I only consider a person's title "real" if one of two things happen. #1 they have an official degree or certificate saying they have been trained in that subject, or #2 if they have been doing it for a really long time, 5+ years in most cases.

For internet stuff like blogs it's hard to judge it....but if they do it often I would consider them a blogger. Once a week often doesn't count, I mean like once a day or more often.

Captn Norrington

Stratics Forum Moderator
Professional
Stratics Veteran
Stratics Legend
UNLEASHED
Campaign Supporter