• Hail Guest!
    We're looking for Community Content Contribuitors to Stratics. If you would like to write articles, fan fiction, do guild or shard event recaps, it's simple. Find out how in this thread: Community Contributions
  • Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
  • Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
  • Hail Guest!
    Please read the new announcement concerning the upcoming addition to Stratics. You can find the announcement Here!

Complete noob facing 15 year learning curve..

E

Eykos

Hey guys.
I kind of wandered my way into here while I was out researching info on Paladins in UO..

I'm a long time MMO player, I've bounced around everything BUT Ultima since the Everquest days back in High School..

..I've been getting tired of WoW and EQ2, and I've never been much of a Diablo fan, so I sat around thinking "What haven't I played?" when it dawned on me..UO!

So, I downloaded the trial account, and made a character.
So far, I love it. It definitely "feels" fifteen years old, but in a good way.
It has a very simple, retro immersive quality about it.
Like, after fifteen years of being "alive", every bridge or house might have a history, some player died in it or sat under that tree and had a conversation with someone else, etc..
I mean, a lot of players passed across the streets you walk over a course of fifteen years..
The world just feels like it has an actual history.

Anyway, I've been wandering around Britain trying to get a "feel" for stuff.
I've still not figured out where exactly I'm supposed to get "tithing" points.
Maybe I skipped a tutorial or something on accident.
(I think I did, I hit "No" to something without paying attention)

I also tried to make a Mage, but it wouldn't let me cast spells, kept asking me for something, so I got frustrated and rage quit the character and went back to my Paladin.

I did buy a horse though. And a kilt.